Churchill Downs Bottle Opener

Bottle openers crafted from the authentic wooden beams and trusses of the 1903-1923 paddock and slate removed from the iconic grandstand roof at Churchill Downs®.

Sale price$85.00
In stock

Product Details

The paddock wood bottle opener is crafted from the wood that supported the paddock in which prized thoroughbred horses were showcased and mounted before races. Engraved "Churchill Downs Paddock 1903-1923."


The Grandstand Slate bottle opener is mounted on frosted plexi, featuring the weathered surface under which legions of Derby goers cheered their horse in the most exciting two minutes in sports. Engraved "Slate Roof from Churchill Downs Grandstand".


Both bottle opener styles sport quality nickel-plated hardware and come gift-boxed with a Certificate of Authenticity.

DUE TO LICENSING RESTRICTIONS PLEASE NOTE WE ARE UNABLE TO SHIP CHURCHILL DOWNS LICENSED ITEMS TO CANADA.

Warning: This product may contain one or more chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer or to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm.


Paddock Wood measures 6-1/2"
Grandstand Slate measures 5" x 1-1/4"

In 2014, Churchill Downs® approached Tokens to make gifts from the beams and trusses of the Racetrack's paddock built in 1903. Churchill Downs planned to incorporate this structure into the second story "Grandstand Pavilion" but building codes made its use cost prohibitive so it was carefully dismantled in 2013. The wood has been transferred to Tokens for a new life celebrating Churchill Downs' history and pageantry. Officially licensed by Churchill Downs Racetrack.

Due to licensing restrictions we are unable to ship Churchill Downs licensed items to Canada.

The History of Churchill Downs Paddock Wood

In 2014, Churchill Downs® approached Tokens to make gifts from the beams and trusses of the Racetrack's paddock built in 1903. Here, prized thoroughbred horses were showcased and mounted before races.

During its existence, Sir Barton, a chestnut colt bred in Kentucky, won the 1919 Kentucky Derby® by five lengths and went on to be the inaugural Triple Crown winner. 1923 was the last year this paddock was used since a new paddock was built behind the clubhouse. Over the course of the last 89 years, this paddock served different track functions, primarily housing parimutuel windows.

Recently, Churchill Downs planned to incorporate this structure into the second story "Grandstand Pavilion" but building codes made its use cost prohibitive so it was carefully dismantled in 2013. The wood has been transferred to Tokens for a new life celebrating Churchill Downs' history and pageantry.

You may also like