Churchill Downs commissioned Tokens & Icons to create an exclusive award to celebrate the Jockeys, Trainers and Owners inducted into the Churchill Downs Honor Roll. The wood used to handcraft this Julep Cup is taken from the authentic wooden beams & trusses of the paddock which stood at the racetrack from 1903 to 1923. After 1923, the structure was used in a number of different capacities before being carefully dismantled in 2013.
CDI wanted to recognize two trainers for their distinguished excellence in 2017. When they reached out to Tokens & Icons with this idea we created an award that infused the DNA of the historical racetrack with a sleek design that recipients would be proud to display.
The paddock was built of yellow pine in 1903. Here, prized thoroughbred horses were showcased and mounted before races. During its existence, Sir Barton, a chestnut colt bred in Kentucky, won the 1919 Kentucky Derby® by five lengths and went on to be the inaugural Triple Crown winner. 1923 was the last year this paddock was used since a new paddock was built behind the clubhouse. Over the course of the last 89 years, this paddock served different track functions before finally being demolished in 2013. Learn more